Aronofsky Eyes ‘Robocop’ Remake

9 07 2008

Generally, I hate remakes. Mostly because the movies that get remade are the ones that are already good to begin with. If it ain’t broken, don’t fix it. Remake the shitty movies. Anyway, a Robocop remake is in the works and, according to SlashFilm, it’s going to be in 3-D and rated PG-13 (two signs for a sure-fire suckfest). The original Robocop was rated R, and that was after it had been recut to avoid an X rating (nowadays, known as NC-17). It wasn’t a movie to take your kid to on the weekend. Robocop was hardcore. Now, it’s going to be made more “family friendly” and will receive the 3-D treatment. Fantastic.

The only plus I can see for this movie is that Darren Aronofsky is rumored to be directing it. I love Darren Aronofsky, but I’m starting to wonder what’s happening to him. Pi and Requiem were brilliant and The Wrestler and The Fighter are generating a lot of positive buzz, but I can’t see this man directing a watered-down remake of Robocop. Aronofsky is not a sure thing just yet. It’s all rumors at this point, so there’s still hope.

Personally, I’d rather see Michael Bay do it. If the ship’s going down, I’d rather Michael Bay be at the helm.

Actions

Information

One response

9 07 2008
CM'Blog

Hi. I’m looking to build up incoming links for my blog. Would you like to exchange blogroll links with me? If yes, please visit: http://greatdebater.wordpress.com/2008/06/25/why-i-blog/ and leave your URL there. The purpose of my blog is to generate debate on anything and everything that matters.

Leave a Reply

